Cyber Chess Academy has organised a number of tournaments at International, National, State, District and City Level. The above photo is from 2nd International Grand Masters Open organised at Hyderabad. Below you can find details of various tournaments.

Attn: Sports Desk

Press Release 

2nd Hyderabad International Grandmasters Chess Tournament-2013


Sethu wins premier section

Hyderabad (03 Dec 13) :- Chennai based ONGC employee Grandmaster Sethuraman   S P won the premier section of 2nd Hyderabad International Grandmasters Chess Tournment after drawing with Grandmaster Merab Gagunashvili of Georgia in the eleventh and final round that concluded here at  Kotla Vijaya Bhaskara Reddy Indoor Stadium, Yousufguda today.

Sethu finished with eight and half points out of a possible eleven and finished at tied first along with top seed Ivan Popov of Russia, who defeated Georgian Grandmaster Levan Pantsulaia in the final round.  But better Buchholz tie break score helped Sethu to finish at top while Popov had settle with runner-up position. 

Vidit Santosh Gujarathi beat Georgian Grandmaster Tornike Sanikidze to take his tally to eight points and tied for the third spot along with IM Mozharov Mikhail of Russia defeated Grandmaster Samvel Ter-Sahakyan of Armenia to achieve his Grandmaster Norm in the final round. Better tie break score favoured the Indian to lift the second runner-up trophy while Mozharov ended fourth.  

Sethu won the winner’s purse of Rs. 2,00,000/- while Popov took home Rs. 1,50,000/- and Vidit got the check of Rs. 1,25,000/- in the event sponsored by Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Ltd, Mahindra Ecole Centrale, Andhra Bank, Petronet LNG Ltd and Airports Authority of India 

Andhra youngster Ravi Teja S brought cheers to the home crowd as he added his name to the list of International Master Norm achievers after defeating Grandmaster Vishnu Prasanna in the final round.

 The tournament produced as many as seven International Norms. Besides Mozharov’s Grandmaster Norm, six young Indian players Prince Bajaj of Delhi, Aniruddha Deshpande of Maharashtra, Dhulipala Bala Chandra Prasad, Ravi Teja S of Andhra Pradesh, Kunal M and Akash PC Iyer of Tamilnadu secured their International Master Norms during this event. 

Women Grandmaster Bhakti Kulkarni finished adjudged as best player among Women’s while Tigran Petrosyan of Armenia and Visakh N R finished first among Junior and Sub-Junior categories.  Matta Vinay Kumar and Cholleti Sahajasri secured Best Andhra Pradesh Men and Women prizes respectively.

Meanwhile, third seed Varun V of Andhra Pradesh deservingly won the Category ‘B’ tournament of the event that ended today. Varun logged eight points out of a possible ten to pocket Rs. 100000/- winner’s purse out of a total prize pool of Rs. 500000/-.  In the final round Varun defeated state mate Ramana Babu B.


Sammed Jaykumar Shete of Maharashtra, Naveen S Hegde of Karnataka, Ameya Audi of Goa and Vishwanath Prasad of Andhra Pradesh finished in a tie for the runner up spot with eight points.  But better tie break score helped Prasad to finish second while Hege, Shete and Ameya finished third, fourth and fifth respectively.


In a befitting closing ceremony, Shri. A S Murthy, Chief Technology Officer Tech Mahindra; Shri. Jayesh Ranjan IAS, VC & MD Andhra Pradesh Industrial Infrastructure Corporation; Shri. Rahul Bojja IAS, VC & MD Sports Authority of Andhra Pradesh give away the prizes in presence of Grandmaster K Sasikiran, Grandmaster D Harika, Shri. Chandra Sekhar, Shri. Chalapati Rao, General Managers Andhra Bank, Shri. Praveen Raju, Chairman Suchitra Academy, Shri. Bandha Kavi, Head Sridevi Engineering College, Shri. TA Reddy, Principal St Peters School, Shri. K Kanna Reddy, Secretary Andhra Pradesh Chess Association, Shri. J Ramalaxmiah, Major Siva Prasad, A Narsimha Rao, Vice Presidents Andhra Pradesh Chess Association and International Master Lanka Ravi, Organising Secretary.


Final Standings : 


Top 10 (Category A) :-


1 GM Sethuraman S.P. INDIA 8½

2 GM Popov Ivan RUSSIA 8½

3 GM Vidit Santosh Gujrathi INDIA 8

4 IM Mozharov Mikhail RUSSIA 8

5 GM Pantsulaia Levan GEORGIA 7½

6 GM Gagunashvili Merab GEORGIA 7½

7 GM Mirzoev Azer AZERBAIJAN 7½

8 GM Arun Prasad S. INDIA 7½

9 Kunal M. INDIA 7½

10 GM Borovikov Vladislav UKRAINE 7



Top 10 (Category B) :- 


1 Varun V Andhra Pradesh 8½

2 Vishwanath Prasad Andhra Pradesh 8

3 Naveen S Hegde Karnataka 8

4 Sammed Jaykumar Shete Maharashtra 8

5 Audi Ameya GOA 8

6 Lokesh N. Tamilnadu 7½

7 Rathanvel V S Tamilnadu 7½

8 Konde Gaurav Maharashtra 7½

9 Praggnanandhaa R Tamilnadu 7½

10 Rakesh Kumar Nayak Odisha 7½



Important Results :- 


Category ‘A’ (Round-11) (Indian’s otherwise specified) :- GM Merab Gagunashvili of GEO (7.5) drew with GM Sethuraman S P (8.5); GM Ivan Popov of RUS (8.5) beat GM Levan Pantsulaia of GEO (7.5); GM Vidit Santosh Gujrathi (8) beat GM Tornike Sanikidze of GEO (7); IM Mikhail Mozharov of RUS (8) beat GM Samvel Ter-Sahakyan of ARM (7); GM Alon Greenfeld of ISR (7) drew with GM Azer Mirzoev of AZE (7); GM Vladislav Borovikov of UKR (7) drew with IM Karthikeyan Murali (7); Dhulipala Bala Chandra Prasad (6.5) lost to GM Arun Prasad (7.5); IM Jacek Stopa of POL (7) drew with GM S Kidambi (7); GM Valeriy Neverov of UKR (7) drew with Tigran Petrosyan of ARM (7); IM Shardul Gagare (7) drew with GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J (7); GM Hovik Hayrapetyan of ARM (6) lost to Kunal M (7.5); IM Rajesh VAV (6.5) drew with GM Lalith Babu M R (6.5); GM Marat Dzhumaev of UZB (6) lost to IM Shyam Nikil (7); IM Ramnath Bhuvanesh (6.5) drew with GM Vasily Papin of Russia (6.5); Akash PC Iyer (7) beat IM Bahruz Rzayev of AZE (6); IM Swapnil S Dhopade (6.5) drew with CM Prince Bajaj (6); IM Thejkumar (7) beat Arjun Tiwari (6); Sagar Shah (6.5) drew with GM Igor Yagupov of RUS (6.5); FM Aravindh Chithambaram VR (5.50 lost to GM Deep Sengupta (6.5); GM Levon Babujian of ARM (6) drew with IM Rahul Sangma (6).

Category ‘B’ :- 

Round-10 :-  Sammed Jaykumar Shete of MAH (8) drew with Naveen S Hegde of KAR (8); Ramana Babu B of AP (7) lost to Varun V of AP (8); Rathanvel V S of TN (7.5) drew with Vishwanath Prasad of AP (8); Ameya Audi of GOA (8) beat Sai Agni Jeevitesh of AP (7); Lokesh N of TN (7.5) beat Srikanth K of SSCB (7); Rakesh Kumar Nayak of ODI (7.5) beat Barath Kalyan M of TN (6.5); Gaurav Konde of MAH (7.5) beat Jitendra Patil (6.5); Raghav Srivathsav V of AP (7) drew with LakshmI Sandeep Naidu of AP (7); Praggnanandhaa R of TN (7.5) beat Hirthickkesh PR of TN (6.5); Vinayak Kulkarani of MAH (7.5) beat Lakshmi Krishna Bhushan of AP (6.5); Khan S of AP (7) drew with Joy Lazar M A of KER (7); Rupankar Nath of WB (6.5) drew with Malla Nooka Raju of AP (6.5); Vijay Anand M of TN (6) lost to Govind Kumar of UP (7); Subramaniam S C of TN (6) lost to Shaon Chowdhury of WB (7); Harshavardhan Reddy of AP (6) lost to Teli Rajendra of RAJ (7); Abhishek A of KER (7) lost to Smaraki Mohanty of ODI (6); Akil ASJ of TN lost to Shaik Abdul Azeez of AP (7); Roop Saurav of BIH (6) lost to Bharat Kumar Reddy of AP (7); K Ashleesh of AP (6) lost to Shailesh Dravid of MAH (7); Arindam Baruah of ASM (6) lost to Saranya Y of TN (7).